About BTWC

Our Team

Our Staff

Courtney Gutman

has worked as BTWC’s Project Manager since fall 2018 and was recently promoted to Director of the organization. She brings ten years of habitat restoration, monitoring, community engagement, and outdoor education experience to our team. As a restoration project manager for Audubon California she managed two of the organization’s largest restoration projects, developed a volunteer and internship program that provided 1500+ hours of engagement opportunities for over 300 community members annually, and represented the organization in multiple working groups. In overseeing the implementation of these projects, she became fascinated with building habitat resilience into restoration and enhancing community-supported initiatives that prepare both wild and human communities for a changing environment. Having recently completed an M.S. degree with the Human Dimensions of Natural Resources department of Colorado State University, Courtney looks forward to the next steps in re-envisioning the future of the Big Thompson with its communities and the Coalition.

Will Davis

As BTWC’s Project Coordinator, Will brings his background in conservation, community engagement, event planning, and an M.S. in Conservation Leadership from Colorado State University to our team. Will has done conservation work in locations around the Western U.S. an even led a community development project in East Africa. During this time, he found a passion for involving and engaging communities to raise awareness and advance conservation goals.

Our Board of Directors

Larry Rogstad, President of the Board
Dan Waggoner, Vice-President of the Board

Mr. Waggoner has a degree in biological sciences, is employed as a process improvement, quality assurance and organizational development consultant. He lives on the Big Thompson River and is committed to working with community members on river restoration projects.

Gordon Gilstrap, Treasurer of the Board

Gordon Gilstrap is a retired Hewlett-Packard executive who personally organized the Little Thompson Watershed Coalition (LTWC) and during 2015 was the chairman for both the LTWC and Big Thompson Watershed Coalition. Gordon is also very active in supporting all the business functions of a children’s therapy clinic in Loveland and has helped Larimer County develop their Comprehensive Plan for the future of the county.

Richard Alper, Secretary of the Board

Mr. Alper is an attorney with experience environmental law. He serves on various Larimer County boards and commissions and is an instructor at University of Northern Colorado.

Lauren Hillmer, Board Director
Jerry Gibbens, Board Director

Mr. Gibbens is Director of Operations at Northern Colorado Water Conservancy District (Northern Water).

Andrew Nave, Board Director
Troy Jones, Board Director

Mr.Jones is an architect registered in Colorado as well as a professional land planner for over 20 years. He has served on other nonprofit boards related to housing in the northern Colorado area, owns a hospitality business on the Big Thompson River, and performs in a band.

David Piske, Board Director

Mr. Piske, a leader in Trout Unlimited for over a decade, is committed to restoring and protecting the Big Thompson River as a healthy recreational trout fishery. He is Conservation Chair of TU’s Rocky Mountain Flycasters, and Colorado TU recognized him as Outstanding Volunteer in 2012 for his contributions to coldwater conservation in Colorado, and in 2018 the Rocky Mountain Flycasters presented him with their Lifetime Achievement Award.

David Jessup, Board Director

Mr. Jessup is co-owner a large guest ranch along the Big Thompson River where he raises grass-fed beef. He is a board member of several Northern Colorado non-profit organizations concerned with water quality and education. He authored a prize-winning historical novel.

Shayle Sabo, Board Director

Mrs. Sabo works for the Larimer County Office of Emergency Management as an Emergency Management Coordinator and also oversees the Larimer Connects Program, which seeks to build resilience and social capacity county-wide through outreach, education, and grassroots mobilization efforts. Shayle holds a B.A. in International Relations from Idaho State University and a M.S. in Disaster Resilience Leadership from Tulane University.

Sharlynn Wamsley, Board Director

Ms. Wamsley is retired after many years of being a newspaper publisher and editor. She is very active in community organizations and lives on the Big Thompson River. Shar edited a book about the 1976 Big Thompson Flood.

Our Advisory Committee

Andy Fayram, Advisor

Mr. Fayram is the Monitoring Program Manager for the Big Thompson Watershed Forum, coordinating the monitoring and assessment programs, data analysis, and reporting strategies for that organization.

Chris Carlson, Advisor
Jane Lopez, Advisor

Ms. Lopez is a resident of Larimer County, employed as an on-call Wildfire Aviation Manager in the Rocky Mountain region, responding to wildfire incidents nationwide.

William Vieth, Advisor

Mr. Vieth works at Wildlands Restoration Volunteers as a Watershed and Forestry Program Manager. He has over 10 years of experience in the environmental sector for a wide range of projects including forest restoration, mine reclamation, river/stream stabilization, disaster response, and wetland banking.